Paranormal Experience, The by Timothy DaileyAs a kid I watched every episode of the X-Files. Who didn’t watch that show? They made it cool to believe in UFOs and the extraterrestrial. And there was a time in my life when I really believed I saw a UFO. I later came to realize, and actually confirm, that what I saw were the lights shining from a local grocery store upon the nights sky. As a kid I really wanted to believe UFOs and aliens were real. While I was pretty skeptical about Bigfoot, I believed the Loch Ness Monster was probably real. I had a healthy fascination with the paranormal – to a point.

This fascination stopped short of believing in ghosts, alien abductions, and vanishing people. But our culture is full of people who believe in the whole gamut of paranormal conspiracy’s. To help Christians think through these issues Timothy Dailey has written The Paranormal Conspiracy: The Truth About Ghosts, Aliens and Mysterious Beings (Chosen, 2015). Dailey is an experienced researcher, writer, and has served overseas in cross-cultural ministry. These experiences have equipped him to tackle a subject like the paranormal.

The jist of Dailey’s book is that while testimony abounds regarding experiences with the paranormal, these, often times intense, experiences must be weighed and examined like anything else for their authenticity; especially against the Bible. For instance, the chapter on Bigfoot, is a textbook case example of how to evaluate the claims made by people over the past few decades concerning the existence of a large animal that lives in the woods and walks upright like a human. After Dailey provides an overview of the history of Bigfoot, he evaluates the evidence for it and finds it utterly lacking (sorry Bigfoot fans!).

Just because people want to believe some things are real, or because they have invested so much emotional capital into an experience, does not mean that we cannot demand of those who have experienced them proof of their authenticity. We cannot let our emotional attachment to something cloud our judgment in evaluating it like we would anything else in life.

In The Paranormal Conspiracy, Dailey brings a sane, clear, and sensitive look at the sensational claims of many over the decades regarding a myriad of paranormal claims. This is a serious accounting and evaluation of some of the most culturally mesmerizing paranormal claims. Dailey provides a dose or reality and sanity in a world gone mad with the paranormal.

I received this book for free from Chosen Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

