My wife and I are adopting from China. There are two things we need. First, prayer. This is not an easy road and it brings with it it’s own kind of stresses and joys. We need prayer for perseverance, growth in faith, emotional stability and spiritual strength among other things. We need daily prayer from as many people as possible.

Second, if you know anything about international adoption then you know its expensive. In fact, more expensive than most people can afford which is why most people who do it have to raise money….lots of money. While $30k is a lot of money and $10, $20, $50 or $100 here and there seems like it barely makes a dent, it helps more than a person might think because if a few hundred people gave a little, well, that makes a lot of money. Combine that with grants and well, we can get there. Grants are nice but they will not cover it all and we don’t want to take more than we need from them. So, we are asking for help from friends and family.

So here is my wife Katie, because she can do it better than I can, presenting our adoption fundraiser:

I’m no good at this part. Let’s call it “the asking.” It has been ingrained in me not to ask. When all my little friends were fundraising for sports or school my family opted not to get involved. We bought dozens of Girl Scout Cookies and gave to Save the Whales but we never asked for ourselves. It just wasn’t done. It somehow became a matter of personal pride as if I didn’t need to ask for help. I wouldn’t ask for help. I have no problem giving to others, but to be completely, 100% honest it’s not something I ever want to do.

I even cringe a little every time I go out with my daughter and her “Fly Kids” to let them ask for donations. On the one hand I am so, so proud of this little girl who cried every time she had to sing in a group at church, as she whispers her three short sentences at every door that opens. Tears form just thinking about what she has done for us already. On the other hand my own pride makes me want to huddle in the car and let her do it on her own. I don’t want anyone to see my face, to know my desperate need, to know I can’t do this alone. I can’t.

But that is the truth, I can’t do this alone. We can’t do this alone. There is a little boy who will die if we fail in this. That responsibility weighs so heavily on our hearts. Perhaps someone else will come along and adopt him, perhaps not. Maybe he would find love in another mother’s arms, maybe not. But this mom is fighting so that those chances won’t ever have to occur. That if should no longer be a part of his life.

You can read the rest here where you can also make a donation if you are able.

