In the last post I shared some thoughts on a year of reading. Now I want to share some books I plan to read this year that I am really excited about.

Here is a list of books I plan to read this year that I am really excited about:

1. A New Testament Biblical Theology by G.K. Beale – I have not read much of Beale but from what I have read about this book it is going to be good. Beale seeks to show how the NT inaugurates the new creational aspect of the end times. I plan to blog through this book as much as I can and I am reading this book with a group which you can join here.

2. The Meaning of Marriage by Tim Keller – This year I plan to read some newer books on marriage and this will be the second one I read after reading this to review. I admire Keller and have loved everything he has written. I expect there to be much wisdom and gospel centered content in this book as are in his others.

3. Earthen Vessels by Matthew Anderson – Evangelicals are funny about the body and I am not sure that up till now there has been a meaningful and serious book written like this one on anthropology and other related topics. Anderson tackles not just a theology of the body but also practical considerations like tattoos and the like.

4. Covenant Theology: A Reformed Baptist Perspective on God’s Covenants by Greg Nichols – Over the years I feel I have grown more into a Reformed Baptist. I am not Covenental but I embrace much of the rich heritage of the Reformed faith. I am also leery of some of the Dispensational understanding of the covenants. I hope this book will provide me with a better understanding of where I think I am going in my theological development.

5. Evangelicalism: What is it and is it worth Keeping? by D.A. Carson – This book has been delayed for some time and I hope it actually hits the shelves this year. I think it will go along nicely to the recently book on Evangelicalism. I watched the video of Carson making an address summarizing this book about a year ago.

6. The Intolerance of Tolerance by D.A. Carson – Another Carson book, this one looks to be promising as well. You can find his lecture on this subject on Google.

7. Should Christians Embrace Evolution? Ed. by Norman Nevin – This book is written from a young earth perspective and covers a broad range of topics. This book contains thirteen contributors who respond to Darwinian evolution along scientific and theological lines.

8. Darwin on Trial (2oth Anniversary Ed.) by Phillip E. Johnson – This book is a classic when it comes to responses to Darwinism. Johnson is a lawyer and his evaluation is meticulous.

9. Disciple: Getting Your Identity from Jesus by Bill Clem – Discipleship is a topic that intrigues me and I hope to write a book on it some day. Clem is the discipleship pastor at Mars Hill where Mark Dirscoll is the pastor. This book looks very promising.

10. Invitation to Biblical Interpretation by Andreas Kostenberger and Richard Patterson – Hermeneutics is one of my favorite subjects and this book looks like it will be the next standard primary text for an intro to the subject. Anything Kostenberger writes is worth its weight in gold. I plan to slowly read through this book piece by piece.

11. & 12. For Calvinism by Michael Horton and Against Calvinism by Roger Olson – Yes, it seems like very year another book is published on the age old Calvinism vs. Arminianism debate and I am a sucker for them. These books look to be more promising than others in the past. Both authors have a good grasp of the historical issues in the debate and I am interested to see how Olson makes his case.

13. Collected Writings on Scripture by D. A Carson – Anything Carson writes should be read by everyone. I read the book Scripture and Truth which he coauthored with Jonathan Woodbridge and found it to be very helpful in my understanding of the doctrine of Scripture. This book is a collection of essays Carson wrote over the years which his research assistant Andy Naselli complied for him.

14. The Bible Among the Myths by John Oswalt – I have a decent interest in Ancient Near Eastern studies. Oswalt’s thesis is that though the Bible as an ancient text is comparative to other ANE literature of its day (just like the Bible would be like contemporary literature if it were written today) it also has great differences which make it very different.

15. Ancient Near Eastern Thought and the Old Testament by John Walton – This is another book dealing with the ANE studies. From what I have read and heard from Walton I think I will disagree with some of his conclusions but there is much that will be helpful still.

16. What is the Mission of the Church? by Kevin DeYoung & Greg Gilbert – The mission of the church is the buzz issue in ecclesiology right now. This book has caused quite a stir much to the authors surprise. The reviews a mixed across the board so I am not sure where I will stand with it on the last page.

17. Salvation Accomplished by the Son: The Work of Christ by Robert Peterson – Last year I read The Deity of Christ which was edited by Peterson and it was great. This book seeks to examine the major events of Christ life from incarnation to His second coming and several pictures of Christ such as reconciler and legal substitute.

18. The Complete Works of Francis Schaeffer by Francis Schaeffer – I have decided to take it upon myself to read all the works of a few influential people and Schaeffer will be the first. There are 22 books in these five volumes. I plan to start reading these but not all of them this year. My goal is to review every one of them and I will have a category in my files for Schaeffer book reviews so they will be more easily accessible.

19. Parenting by God’s Promises by Joel Beeke – From the publisher, “Joel R. Beeke explores what this nurture and admonition looks like and offers gems of practical wisdom for parents on topics such as instituting and leading family worship, teaching children, modeling faithful Christian living, and exercising discipline. However, he carefully puts parental responsibilities in their proper perspective and guides mothers and fathers to lean not on their own abilities but to trust more fully in the God who knits children together in the first place. Above all, he affirms, parents must look to the one true God, who promises to provide everything His people need and to bless them and their families.”

